top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDon-O

A (official) Xanadu Special Edition in the future?

Updated: Apr 28, 2021

Venny Viro is a writer, producer, curator and archivist who is currently producing former Chicago lead singer Peter Cetera box set. Sometime ago his issued the following statement about his recent deal with Olivia Newton-John:


"I am incredibly honored and excited to announce my latest, multi-faceted, music industry endeavor. It pairs me with an internationally renowned singer/songwriter noted for her heavenly voice and a career that spans seven decades.


To her credit, she has a mind blowing total of 27 top 40 hits in the US, 19 in the UK, and 26 in her native Australia. She has released 22 studio albums of which a staggering 16 of them have been certified gold or achieved multi-platinum status in the US. In her film roles, you might know her as Sandy, Kira, Debbie, Bitsy Mae or Barbara. She's starred in eight of her own worldwide, blockbuster television specials, been on 17 successful concert tours and celebrated a three-year Las Vegas residency. This powerhouse talent even found time to host "Saturday Night Live", compete in the Eurovision Song Contest, and appear in TV shows including "Murphy Brown", "Glee", "American Idol", "Dancing With The Stars", and "RuPaul's Drag Race".


So, to all the Greasers and Pink Ladies, muses and rollerskaters, ask yourself two questions - "Have you never been mellow?", "Do you want to get physical?". You know the answer is a resounding "Yes!"


I am thrilled to be working with Olivia Newton-John and her entire recorded works - both audio and video. There is a lot of material to go through. Many of you know that most of Olivia's albums have never been remastered, expanded or reissued. Much of her material has never been digitized. That means there is an overwhelming amount of work ahead of me. I'm going through every tape, file and document regarding anything Olivia recorded. I have a tremendous amount of projects tentatively planned, but things can change at a moment’s notice. I can confirm the first project I am producing for Olivia is a collection of duets. It will include her latest single, "Window In The Wall", featuring her daughter Chloe Lattanzi.


All of this is a tremendous undertaking. Those of you familiar with my work know I am going to present Olivia's music in the most detailed and beautifully produced way possible. And Olivia will be overseeing everything I put together. I will do my best to "bring all your dreams alive for you”.


No word if Jeff Lynne will be involved should this special Xanadu project will happens. Keep your ears to the ground.

212 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
  • Flickr Social Icon
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • YouTube
bottom of page